Male Reproductive System

Male reproductive system consists of the following:


  1. External genitalia: Penis is a male organ of copulation. It greatly varies in its length, measuring about 12 to 18 cm during the erectile state.
  2. Internal genitalia: These include testis, ductus deferens, seminal vesicles and prostate gland.
  • Testis: This is a pair of gonads lying in the scrotum. Each testis measures 5 cm in length, 3 cm in width and 2 cm in breadth and 10 to 15 grams. Testis contains seminiferous tubules where sperms are produced. Male hormones are produced by Leylig cells of testis. On upper pole of testis epididymis lies, where sperms mature as they pass from testis to the vas deferens.
  • Ductus deferens: These are conducting tubes which carry the sperms from testis upto the neck of urinary bladder (prostatic urethra). It measures 45 cm in length.
  • Seminal vesicles: These are a pair of glands present around the neck of urinary bladder. They secrete necessary nutrients for sperm maturation.
  • Prostate glands: This gland is present around the neck of urinary bladder, secretes prostatic fluid in the semen that is necessary for sperm maturation and adds to the bulk of seminal fluid.